top of page

Welcome to Gian's Place

I just got back to Minnesota from my visit to Manila. As often as I can, I'd like to visit my family even for a short stay.

For my trip to Manila last December 2016, I took the Delta flight MSP-DTW-NRT and then to Manila. At Detroit airport, our plane arrived at gate A20 and the flight to Narita is at gate A36. Wow that's a long walk and run! One good thing is that gate A36 is just in front of the Westin Hotel where my brother Bong, his wife Grace, son Gian, and I stayed in one of our December trips to Manila. I took a photo and sent it to Bong.

I miss traveling with Bong and his family. It also started snowing and I remember Gian was very happy when he saw his first snow.

I'm writing this when we're at 7:32 hours time to destination. Our plane is my favorite fleet 747, aircraft number 6302. 6301 has been retired and I'm donating money for it to have its own place at the Delta Museum.

From Narita, I took the Jetstar flight to Manila. Jetstar's terminal is at Terminal 3 (Delta is Terminal 1) so I went through immigration and customs and then boarded a free shuttle to Terminal 3.

All flight attendants were very nice. They've been helping passengers to store their carry on bags on the overhead storage. Fitting them all in. At the final approach to NAIA airport we saw fireworks. The lady flight attendants were so amused seeing the fireworks. It was New Year's Eve!

After customs at Terminal 1, I tried to look for money changers to get pesos for taxi fare. Unfortunately there's only Land Bank that is open but there are lots of people in line to change their money.

My sister-in-law Mimi messaged me to get a grab taxi but their station is not manned because it's early morning already. She said they will just order a cab and will pay for it online. I'll just wait at the passenger pick-up area under the signage 'T'. After a few minutes, she said all Grab and Uber drivers are not responding to their order so mimi asked me to just grab a metered taxi.

I went up the metered taxi station but I finally decided to try the free shuttle to Terminal 3. I got on the bus and the trip route was from Terminal 1 to 2, then 4 and then 3.

From Terminal 3, I took the Red Shuttle bus to Belmont hotel. I asked the driver if One Palm Tree is near Belmont and he said he'll just pass in front of it so I don't need to walk far.

Got off the bus in front of One Palm Tree and walked up to Gian's Place. What a wonderful experience to get home just a few minutes from the airport.

Note to self: Always carry pesos and small change both pesos and dollars for cab rides and tipping.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page